Drug Distribution Charges
Drug distribution charges can result from selling controlled dangerous substances (as outlined in Florida’s schedule of CDS), possessing drugs with the intent to sell, or delivering drugs, based on the type and amount of substance involved. Florida’s drug distribution laws are based on the categorization of each controlled substance, which range between schedule I (drugs with the most potential for abuse), to schedule V (drugs with the lowest potential for abuse).
What are the consequences?
Charges resulting from drug distribution are either felonies or misdemeanors. The type and quantity of drugs listed in the charging document of your case will impact the potential consequences.
Possible charges range from a lesser fine and/or imprisonment with a misdemeanor to a more severe fine and/or imprisonment with a felony. Felonies range from third to first degree, with a first degree felony being the most severe.
A sale or delivery of more than ten grams of most schedule I controlled substances results in a first degree felony, which can include a charge of incarceration up to 30 years, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.
The sale, delivery or possession of most schedule I and II controlled substances can result in a second degree felony, which can result in a prison sentence 15 years or under, a fine $10,000 or under, or both.
The sale, delivery or possession of most schedule I, II, III, and IV controlled substances can result in a second degree felony, which can result in a prison sentence five years or under, a fine $5,000 or under, or both.
The sale of all schedule V controlled substances is a misdemeanor in the first degree, which can result in incarceration of up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000, or both.
What else impacts the penalty?
The typical punishments outlined above can become more severe based on a few factors, including the location and age of individuals involved in the crime charged. Drugs distributed within 1,000 feet of certain schools, public parks, churches, and homes result in harsher penalties. If the defendant is over the age of 18 and the sale of a controlled substances is to a minor or involves a minor, the resulting charge is a felony of either the first or second degree.
Defense Against Drug Distribution Charges
The penalties associated with drug distribution have a life-long impact. An attorney experienced in drug crime defense is critical to improve your chances of getting charges reduced or dismissed.
The defense attorneys at Joffe Law, P.A. have decades of years of experience in drug distribution charges. We will help you understand more about the offense you have been charged with, its penalties, and the possible outcomes of your case.
Contact us today so we can protect your rights. Call our office at 954-723-0007 to get started.